Anyone who knows me, knows I hate having my photos taken.  I’m really picky, I think that helps me in my job of photographing other people.  I have insight into the why’s of the camera shy.  lol.  All that aside, I have always wanted a Mommy-n-me session with my kiddos.  They are growing like weeds, our daughter just turned twelve and she’s 5’4″ and my son will be eight in less than two weeks.  He’s edging in on the 5′ mark.  I knew if I was going to do this, I had better do it now!  Mommy-n-me sessions don’t look as good when the kids are married and grown  (I kid, I kid).  Anyway- we love themes.  Or – I LOVE themes, and I convince my family to go along with my crazy ideas.  Yep, that’s it.  So, if you saw our anniversary photos from last July out in Mount Hood, Oregon- this is based off of that shirt my hubby was wearing.  Here is a link to that..   So while planning this, I knew I wanted “red/country life” to be the color and theme.  My business partner suggested I copy my husband’s buffalo check.  H&M just happened to have this shirt on their sale rack for $7.  I loved that price, you just can’t go wrong.

My kids love Ferdinand the Bull.  We also have a strong love of reading books, so we had to incorporate that as well.  We bought several new copies at Books a Million.  Ours was on the lamb at the time, and we couldn’t track it down.

We love the bandana idea (and grabbed those at JcPenney) because it felt like it added to our texas vibe that we were looking for.  These shots were taken just outside our fence (The grass was actually greener over there, believe it or not.)  Some of the neighbors cows and a couple bulls were quite curious about what we were up to.  (They are drawn to the sound of people reading out loud we found, also the other night in the pool we found out if you are playing George Strait music it brings all the cows up to the fence.)

 

So without any further ado, here are our fun themed photos.  Our kitten,  Bandit, decided to come running after us.  He was the perfect addition to our reading group.

MM (13)